3/9/17 | 9:58PM: Alain Vigneault said on MSG, "In all the times that I have asked for challenges since we have been able to do this, this one I am 100% sure that I am right. When we made the call initially, the ref that hadn't made the initial call came to us and he said that the reason he is saying it's a good goal is because Antti was out of the blue. I'm looking at it and Antti's two feet are in the blue paint, there is contact that lifts his mask and obviously he can't see the shot. Then they told us that Antti's feet were in the blue but that his head was outside the blue paint, so it was involuntary contact because Antti's face was out of the blue. In my opinion it was the wrong call and at the end of the day we didn't play well enough in the third period, we got outplayed and they came back and scored two PP goals."
9:49PM: At 9:04 of the third period, with the Rangers up 3-2, Carolina scored a goal that the Rangers challenged for goalie interference.
The official ruling from the NHL Situation room was: "after reviewing all available replays and consulting with NHL Hockey Operations staff, the Referee confirmed no goaltender interference infractions occurred before the puck crossed the goal line."