Now Commenting On:

There's still ten days until camp begins and the fans are gearing up for a new chapter in Giants football. The team is celebrating it's 90th season this year, joining the NFL in 1925. Only the Bears, Packers and Cardinals have been in the league longer.

Some quick hits from the first 89 years...

The team was founded in 1925 by Tim Mara and run by him until his death in 1959. His sons, Wellington and Jack co-ran the club until Jack's death in 1965. Jack's son, Tim, took over his father's share and held it until 1991, when, after his death, his descendants sold their half to Robert Tisch. Wellington Mara passed away in 2005. His son, John, is now the team's CEO. Tisch also died in 2005. His son, Steve, is the Giants' Chairman.

The Giants have won eight titles in their first 89 seasons - four NFL Championships (1927, 1934, 1938, 1956) before the NFL-AFL merger of 1970 and four Super Bowls (XXI, XXV, XLII, XLVI).

They have won 11 conference championships, 16 division titles and have made 31 post season appearances.

29 Hall of Famers have played for the Giants over the years, including DE Michael Strahan who will be inducted this August.

The Giants have retired 12 uniform numbers over the course of their history. Only two post-merger players - LB Lawrence Taylor (56) and QB Phil Simms (11) - have received the honor.

Five Giants have been named NFL MVP since 1925: Mel Hein (1938), Frank Gifford (1956), Charley Conerly (1959), Y.A. Tittle (1963) and Lawrence Taylor (1986).

Since 1925, Big Blue has made their home in six buildings covering three states: Polo Grounds (1925–1955); Yankee Stadium (1956–1973); Yale Bowl (1973–1974); Shea Stadium (1975); Giants Stadium (1976–2009); MetLife Stadium (2010–present)

Enjoy the season.

Tags: 2014 New York Giants, New York Giants History
Login with Facebook Login with Twitter Login with