Now Commenting On:

Michael Strahan made the cut and is among 15 finalists to be named to the National Football Hall of Fame.

Strahan is joined by Morten Andersen, Jerome Bettis, Derrick Brooks, Tim Brown, Edward DeBartolo, Tony Dungy, Kevin Greene, Charles Haley, Marvin Harrison, Walter Jones, John Lynch, Andre Reed, Will Shields and Aeneas Williams.

Two senior nominees, Oakland punter Ray Guy and DE Claude Humphrey, were selected as finalists in August by the Hall of Fame's Senior Selection Committee.

The list was pared down from 25 to 15 on NFL Network on Thursday night. The Hall of Fame class will be announced the night before the Super Bowl.

Wow. This is some impressive group. Not only the 15, but the veterans as well. Ray Guy was not just a punter, he was THE punter. Humphrey played before sacks were an official stat, but they retrofitted him for 126 1/2.  Harry Carson frequently mentions Humphrey as a contemporary he feels is deserving of enshrinement.

Strahan should get in this time around. I can see him going in with one or both from the veteran's list, Walter Jones, Brooks, Dungy and DeBartolo. Almost everyone on this list is deserving, however, but if I had a vote, those would be my choices.

Tags: New York Giants, Pro Football Hall of Fame
Login with Facebook Login with Twitter Login with