Now Commenting On:

The NHL announced today that the winners for five major awards will be announced prior to Game Two of the Stanley Cup Final in a television special. The special will air at 7pm, although the date of Game Two is not yet known. The Hart, Calder, Norris and Vezina trophies, as well as the Ted Lindsay Award will be announced during the special.

The Islanders' John Tavares is a finalist for the Hart Trophy, given to the player judged to be the most valuable to his team. The other finalists are Alexander Ovechkin and Sidney Crosby.

Tavares' teammate Matt Moulson is a finalist for the Lady Byng Memorial Trophy for sportsmanship, along with Patrick Kane and Martin St. Louis. That award will be announced on the NHL Network at 5pm, the day prior to Game Two of the Finals.

Tags: Islanders
Login with Facebook Login with Twitter Login with