Mets manager Mickey Callaway took the blame for the team batting out of order and having a scoring opportunity erased in the first inning on Wednesday afternoon in Cincinnati.
"It was just an administrative thing that I didn't take care of," Callaway said after the game. "I've gotta double-check, triple-check, and quadruple-check what's put on there and what's put on the board."
When asked if he is the one who fills out the lineup card, Callaway's response indicated that he is not. But he took responsibility for the error.
"I'm responsible for it," he said. "One is handwritten and the other is printed out on a computer. ... what was put in the computer was wrong."
"I knew right when they went up there that we hit out of order," Callaway continued, adding that as soon as the Mets sent the wrong batter to the plate he knew they were batting in the wrong order -- but that it was too late to fix it.
The situation arose because the Mets handed the correct lineup card to the umpires, but had the wrong order listed on the lineup card in the dugout. According to Callaway, one lineup card is always handwritten (the one that the umpires were given), and the other (which was in the dugout) is printed out.
"It's frustrating," Callaway continued. "It probably cost us the game. We had a chance to score in the first and we didn't. ... I'm pissed at myself."