Now Commenting On:

Wednesday, the Mets named 1B/2B/3B Wilmer Flores and RHP Rafael Montero their Sterling Organizational Player and Pitcher of the year respectively.

The Mets also named a Sterling Award Winner for each affiliate:

AAA - RHP Matt Harvey

AA - RHP Zack Wheeler

A+ - OF Alonzo Harris

A - RHP Michael Fulmer

SSA - RHP Hansel Robles

R - RHP Miller Diaz

DSL1 - RHP Yoryi Nuez

DSL2 - OF Vicente Lupo

The Sterling Award winners will be recognized in a pre-game ceremony Saturday.

The only two repeat winners from 2011 are Harvey, who was the 2011 St. Lucie winner, and Montero, who won for his 2011 work in the Gulf Coast League.

The Sterling Awards are not about the best prospect either on a system level or by affiliate, although this year, they come fairly close to matching up. Remember, last year, Josh Satin was the Sterling Award Player of the year while LHP Darin Gorski was the Pitcher of the Year. Satin was DFA'd this year.

Tags: Awards , Toby Hyde
Login with Facebook Login with Twitter Login with