Late in the third period last night, Anze Kopitar was credited with a goal that tied the game at three for the Kings.
On the play the Kings had two players in front of Henrik Lundqvist and Alain Vigneault challenged the call on the ice claiming goaltender interference.
After the review, the referees determined that Ryan McDonagh's "actions" caused Tyler Toffoli to come into contact with Henrik Lundqvist before the goal was scored. (NHL.com)
The NHL cited rule 78.7 (ii) saying that the goal should count because the attacking player was "pushed, shoved or fouled by a defending Player causing the attacking Player to come into contact with the goalkeeper." (NHL.com)
Derek Stepan said after the game that "it was goaltender interference" and that he isn't sure what the refs want Lundqvist to do on that play. (Newsday)
After the game, a very frustrated Lundqvist said "the rule is that you can't have a guy in the crease, I can't come out to play the shot and as a goalie when you try and make the save you have a forward motion and he doesn't make any effort to get out. I can't believe that the ref, after watching it, didn't get it right. That means that you can pretty much put a guy in the crease and as long as goalie doesn't get run over it's a good goal. That is the way that I look at this call."
Lundqvist added that after being allowed to watch that play, the referees "should be able to get it right. That is my opinion."
Alain Vigneault said that he was in agreement with what Lundqvist said. (MSG)