3/9/17 | 9:58PM: Alain Vigneault said on MSG, "In all the times that I have asked for challenges since we have been able to do this, this one I am 100% sure that I am right. When we made the call initially, the ref that hadn't made the initial call came to us and he said that the reason he is saying it's a good goal is because Antti was out of the blue. I'm looking at it and Antti's two feet are in the blue paint, there is contact that lifts his mask and obviously he can't see the shot. Then they told us that Antti's feet were in the blue but that his head was outside the blue paint, so it was involuntary contact because Antti's face was out of the blue. In my opinion it was the wrong call and at the end of the day we didn't play well enough in the third period, we got outplayed and they came back and scored two PP goals."
9:49PM: At 9:04 of the third period, with the Rangers up 3-2, Carolina scored a goal that the Rangers challenged for goalie interference.
The official ruling from the NHL Situation room was: "after reviewing all available replays and consulting with NHL Hockey Operations staff, the Referee confirmed no goaltender interference infractions occurred before the puck crossed the goal line."
The NHL, as Bill Pidto and Joe Micheletti, said that Raanta was the one who initiated contact.
Raanta said on MSG that he felt he was on the top of the crease like he wants to be when the puck is at the point and that when the pass went towards Aho he heard the shot and his mask was "on his nose" and that it was tough to see the puck after that.
He aid that he thought at first it might have been a Rangers defensemen who made contact but after seeing the replay he saw it was the Carolina player that hit him in the head.
Raanta added, "I don't know what the rule is? If I can't be on top of my crease....it's hard to say now what I should do differently."
Steve Valiquette said that the refs couldn't see that "the plastic dangler underneath Raanta's helmet was pushed up by the left elbow of Lindholm. Because it's attached to the helmet with ropes, put the helmet up and that is why he can't make a play on the goal."
Ryan McDonagh said that he never got the exact explanation but said that he was surprised at the call since there was interference around the mask of Raanta. (MSG)
He added that it was a turning point and that the Rangers didn't handle it the right way and let Carolina make plays in the offensive zone.