Now Commenting On:

Andrew Wiggins headlines the roster for the 2013 McDonald's All-American Game set for April 3 at the United Center in Chicago.

"Oh, it's just a blessing from God," the 6-foot-8 Wiggins out of Huntington (W.V.) Prep said on ESPNU when he was named to the East roster. "It's a blessing."

Five Kentucky commits -- Andrew and Aaron Harrison, Dakari Johnson, Marcus Lee and James Young -- were also named to the game, the most number of players ever from one school. Those same five will play in the Jordan Brand Classic April 13 at Barclays Center in Brooklyn.

Wiggins is the latest Canadian named to the game, following a recent group of countrymen that included Tristan Thompson, Cory Joseph, Myck Kabongo, Khem Birch, Anthony Bennett and Kyle Wiltjer.

Fellow Canadians Tyler Ennis, the Syracuse-bound point guard from St. Benedict's Prep, and Xavier Rathan-Mayes, the Florida State-bound shooting guard from Huntington Prep, were left off the team. Ennis responded by going off for 53 points Thursday night.

"Now on to the donut eaters please explain how Tyler and Xavier don't mk this game.....all of us Canadian are dumbfounded by your selection," Tweeted Mike George of the CIA Bounce AAU team.

Meantime, Wiggins said he's looking forward to "playing with the best players in the nation."

Wiggins reiterated he's down to four schools -- Florida State, Kansas, Kentucky and North Carolina. Having already visited Florida State, he will visit Kentucky Feb. 27, Kansas March 4 and UNC March 9.

"Probably April," he said when asked when he might decide.


Anthony "Cat" Barber (N.C. State)

Keith Frazier (uncommitted)

Kasey Hill (Florida)

Demetrius Jackson (Notre Dame)

Isaiah Hicks (North Carolina)

Rondae Jefferson (Arizona)

Wayne Selden Jr. (Kansas)

Noah Vonleh (Indiana)

Chris Walker (Florida)

Andrew Wigggins (uncommitted)

Dakari Johnson (Kentucky)

Kennedy Meeks (North Carolina)

Coach: Freddy Johnson, Greensboro (N.C.) Day School



Jabari Bird (Cal)

Isaac Hamilton (UTEP)

Aaron Harrison (Kentucky)

Andrew Harrison (Kentucky)

Matt Jones (Duke)

Nigel Williams-Goss  (Washington)

Aaron Gordon (uncommitted)

Jabari Parker (Duke)

Marcus Lee (Kentucky)

Jarrell Martin (LSU)

Bobby Portis (Arkansas)

James Young (Kentucky)

Coach: Mike Flaherty, Mt. Carmel High School (Chicago, IL)

Follow Adam Zagoria on Twitter

And like ZAGS on Facebook

Tags: Articles, Andrew Wiggins , Adam Zagoria
Login with Facebook Login with Twitter Login with